urban institute nonprofit social and economic policy research

2011 Staff Honors and Awards

Next ArrowElizabeth Boris: Named a Class of 2011 member of The Nonprofit Times Power & Influence Top 50—her ninth year on the list.

Olga Kaganova: Received the 2010/2011 William S. Ballard Award for her article “Government Property Assets in the Wake of the Dual Crisis in Public Finance and Real Estate: An Opportunity to Do Better Going Forward,” published in Real Estate Issues.

Demetra S. Nightingale: Received the Distinguished Alumni Award from The Trachtenberg School of Public Policy and Public Administration at The George Washington University. Demetra was honored and recognized for her outstanding contributions in the studies of welfare and workforce development policy and programs, as well as for her expertise in evaluation and research methods.

Jim Nunns: Elected second vice president of the National Tax Association.

Barbara A. Ormond, Brenda Spillman, Timothy Waidmann, Kyle J. Caswell, and Bogdan Tereshchenko: Received the Urban Institute Presidential Award for Policy Research for their report “Potential National and State Medical Care Savings From Primary Disease Prevention.”

Susan J. Popkin, Brett Theodos, Liza Getsinger, and Joe Parilla: Received the Urban Institute Presidential Award for Policy Research for the Supporting Vulnerable Public Housing Families policy brief series.

Susan J. Popkin: Won the National Academy of Public Administration’s 2011 Louis Brownlow Book Award for Moving to Opportunity: The Story of an American Experiment to Fight Ghetto Poverty, which she cowrote with Xavier de Souza Briggs and John Goering.

Caroline Ratcliffe and Signe-Mary McKernan: Received the Urban Institute Presidential Award for Policy Research for their brief “Childhood Poverty Persistence: Facts and Consequences.”

Robert D. Reischauer: Elected to the American Academy of Arts & Sciences.

John Roman (along with former JPC colleagues Shannon Reid, Aaron Chalfin, and Carly Knight): Received the 2011 Division of Experimental Criminology Award for Outstanding Experimental Field Trial for a study on using DNA to solve property crime, published in the Journal of Experimental Criminology. The award was presented at the American Society of Criminology conference in Washington, DC.

Eugene Steuerle: Joined the board of Venture Philanthropy Partners. Re-elected chair of ACT for Alexandria, the community foundation for Alexandria, VA. Nominated for Living Legends in Alexandria.

Wayne Vroman: Honored with the lifetime achievement award for research on unemployment insurance from the National Academy of Social Insurance.